Sen. Jerry Stevenson is leaving the Senate. Kaysville Mayor Tami Tran (R), the Doers Network's largest 2026 recipient, faces Jared Neal (D) and Josh Smith (Forward Party) for his seat. Her campaign says "keep taxes low for families." Kaysville's own minutes show she cast the tie-breaking vote for a 31.72% increase in the city's property tax rate. Her disclosure form, checked against state business records, is missing two of the six companies the state lists her in.
Cash contributions from her Convention and Primary reports (1/13/26–6/11/26) plus the 6/16/26–7/28/26 period. In-kind contributions are shown separately because the state's own forms say they don't count toward cash totals.
Tran's cash, the in-kind advertising she received, Meta's outside spending for her, and Neal's cash, on one scale.
| Date | Contributor | City | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1/13/2026 | Gil Miller | Kaysville, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 1/13/2026 | Evan Vickers | Cedar City, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 1/13/2026 | Holland and Hart | Salt Lake City, UT | Cash | $500.00 |
| 1/13/2026 | Jerry Stevenson | Layton, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 1/20/2026 | Tami Tran (candidate) | Loan | $8,060.29 | |
| 1/24/2026 | Aaron Starks | South Jordan, UT | Cash | $250.00 |
| 1/31/2026 | James Ostergar | Holladay, UT | Cash | $25.00 |
| 2/1/2026 | Stuart Adams | Layton, UT | Cash | $2,000.00 |
| 3/1/2026 | Doers Network | Midvale, UT | Cash | $5,600.00 |
| 3/1/2026 | Tami Tran (candidate) | Loan | $12,000.00 | |
| 3/21/2026 | Don Willie | Sandy, UT | Cash | $50.00 |
| 3/21/2026 | Andre Loretz | Kaysville, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 3/21/2026 | Ally Isom | Midway, UT | Cash | $500.00 |
| 3/23/2026 | Utah Property Rights Coalition | Salt Lake City, UT | Cash | $500.00 |
| 3/23/2026 | Utah Association for Justice | Salt Lake City, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 5/15/2026 | Friends of Ann Millner | Roy, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 5/15/2026 | Paul Toller | Kaysville, UT | Cash | $100.00 |
| 5/15/2026 | Whitney Holland | Kaysville, UT | Cash | $2,000.00 |
| 5/15/2026 | AFCU Development | Ogden, UT | Cash | $1,500.00 |
| 5/15/2026 | Devin Wiser | North Salt Lake, UT | Cash | $100.00 |
| 5/15/2026 | Lincoln Hill Partners | Salt Lake City, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 5/15/2026 | Mike McKell | Spanish Fork, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 5/15/2026 | Injury Care Solutions | Murry, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 5/15/2026 | UCU Political Action Committee | Salt Lake City, UT | Cash | $2,000.00 |
| 5/15/2026 | AGPAC | Sandy, UT | Cash | $500.00 |
| 5/22/2026 | All in For Utah PAC | Cottonwood Heights, UT | In-kind | $4,500.00 |
| 5/28/2026 | All in For Utah PAC | Cottonwood Heights, UT | In-kind | $3,750.00 |
| 6/11/2026 | Parsons Behle & Latimer | Salt Lake City, UT | Cash | $300.00 |
| 6/11/2026 | Holland & Hart LLP | Denver, CO | Cash | $250.00 |
| 6/11/2026 | Siegfried & Jensen | Murray, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 6/11/2026 | Mountainstar Healthcare Good Government | Cottonwood Heights, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 6/11/2026 | Craig Swapp & Associates | Sandy, UT | Cash | $500.00 |
| 6/11/2026 | Utah Public Power PAC | Salt Lake City, UT | Cash | $500.00 |
| 6/11/2026 | Karen Gail Miller | Sandy, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 6/11/2026 | Republican Women Lead | Riverton, UT | Cash | $500.00 |
| 6/11/2026 | Doers Network Inc. | Wilmington, DE | Cash | $5,000.00 |
| 6/11/2026 | Clyde Companies Inc. | Orem, UT | Cash | $500.00 |
| 6/16/2026 | All in For Utah PAC | Cottonwood Heights, UT | In-kind | $3,787.22 |
| 6/22/2026 | Robert Debry | Salt Lake City, UT | Cash | $500.00 |
| 6/22/2026 | Driggs, Bills & Day | Salt Lake City, UT | Cash | $500.00 |
| 6/22/2026 | Friends of Spencer Cox | Salt Lake City, UT | Cash | $2,000.00 |
| 6/22/2026 | Jerry Stevenson | Layton, UT | Cash | $500.00 |
| 6/22/2026 | Utah Association of REALTORS | Sandy, UT | Cash | $4,000.00 |
| 6/22/2026 | Education First Utah | Centerville, UT | Cash | $5,000.00 |
| 6/22/2026 | Utah Chamber | Salt Lake City, UT | Cash | $7,500.00 |
| 6/22/2026 | Jed D. Stevenson | Kaysville, UT | Cash | $4,000.00 |
| 7/28/2026 | Evan Vickers | Cedar City, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| 7/28/2026 | Comcast | Philadelphia, PA | Cash | $500.00 |
| 7/28/2026 | Scott Sandall | Tremonton, UT | Cash | $1,000.00 |
| Cash total | $81,735.29 | |||
| In-kind total | $12,037.22 |
| Date | Payee | Purpose (as filed) | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1/21/2026 | Davis County Republican Party | Campaign Expense | $640.00 |
| 1/31/2026 | Nielsen's Frozen Custard | Campaign Expense | $252.06 |
| 2/1/2026 | Costco Checks | Campaign Expense | $22.23 |
| 2/4/2026 | Anedot | Campaign Expense | $172.50 |
| 2/7/2026 | Little Ceaser's | Campaign Expense | $14.04 |
| 2/9/2026 | Gathering | Signature Gathering | $12,000.00 |
| 2/19/2026 | RPS | Advertising | $264.39 |
| 2/19/2026 | Drip Swag | Advertising | $1,468.82 |
| 3/12/2026 | Davis County Republican Party | Campaign Expense | $800.00 |
| 3/17/2026 | RPS | Advertising | $228.39 |
| 3/19/2026 | Right Insight | Advertising | $429.79 |
| 3/24/2026 | Tactical Campaigns | Campaign Expense | $3,000.00 |
| 4/17/2026 | Right Insight | Advertising | $19.33 |
| 4/24/2026 | J'Dawgs | Campaign Expense | $1,103.16 |
| 4/24/2026 | Sams Club | Campaign Expense | $161.07 |
| 4/27/2026 | Right Insight | Advertising | $20.10 |
| 5/6/2026 | Syracuse City | Campaign Expense | $20.00 |
| 5/6/2026 | Moena Cafe | Campaign Expense | $74.83 |
| 5/8/2026 | Harbor Freight | Campaign Expense | $164.61 |
| 5/12/2026 | Promo Apparel | Campaign Expense | $755.00 |
| 5/20/2026 | Deseret News | Advertising | $3,677.10 |
| 6/1/2026 | Right Insight | Advertising | $0.52 |
| 6/1/2026 | Majority 51 | Campaign Expense | $5,000.00 |
| 6/4/2026 | Tactical Campaigns | Campaign Expense | $11,000.00 |
| 6/10/2026 | Sweet's Candy | Campaign Expense | $603.48 |
| Total | $41,891.42 |
Senate President Stuart Adams $2,000 · Sen. Evan Vickers $2,000 · Friends of Spencer Cox $2,000 · Sen. Jerry Stevenson $1,500 · Sen. Mike McKell $1,000 · Friends of Ann Millner $1,000 · Sen. Scott Sandall $1,000.
McKell was the primary sponsor of S.B. 287 (2026), the targeted-advertising tax that falls heavily on Meta. See "The Outside Money" below.
$41,891.42 spent. Largest vendors: Tactical Campaigns $14,000 · "Gathering" $12,000 (purpose filed as "Signature Gathering") · Majority 51 $5,000 · Deseret News $3,677.10. The rest went to local swag and food vendors. Spending after June 11 is due on the September 30 report.
Open: whether "Gathering" is Gathering Inc. is not confirmedThis money never touched her campaign account. Meta's PAC paid vendors directly as independent expenditures, which is why it appears only in the PAC's own report.
All of it moved on June 11, 2026, twelve days before the June 23 primary. None of it passed through Tran's own campaign account.
| Date | Vendor | Purpose (as filed) | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6/11/26 | FP1 Strategies, LLC | Digital ads & texting supporting Tami Tran (SD-06) | $114,722.00 |
| 6/11/26 | FP1 Strategies, LLC | Phone calls | $10,759.50 |
| 6/11/26 | FP1 Strategies, LLC | Mailer | $4,760.98 |
| 6/11/26 | FP1 Strategies, LLC | Mailer | $4,760.98 |
| 6/11/26 | Tunnl, LLC | Data | $17,500.00 |
| Total | $152,503.46 |
Forge the Future Project's Utah Statement of Organization lists the organization it represents as Meta Platforms, Inc. Committee Chair Josh Althouse ("Public Policy Director") and officer Brian Baker both list 1 Meta Way, Menlo Park. The treasurer is an attorney. The PAC received $270,000 from its California parent on June 11, spent $251,446.36 the same day on Tran and Rep. Logan Monson (HD-69), and reported an ending balance of $18,553.64. It registered in Utah on June 15, inside the state's seven-day window.
Meta has said its state PACs back candidates who support "AI progress" and U.S. tech companies. Tran's campaign platform says nothing about technology, AI, data centers or social media.
The other candidate Meta backed that day, Monson, voted no on S.B. 287, the 2026 targeted-advertising tax that KSL reported would fall heavily on Meta. Tran was not in the Legislature and cast no vote on it.
Meta's other Utah recipient: Logan Monson, HD-69 (no case file yet)In Kaysville the five council members vote and the mayor presides. The mayor votes only to break a tie. On taxes, the record shows that happened once.
Unanimous council vote. About $99 a year on a $640,000 home, per the Davis Journal.
The budget proposed "a 31.72% increase in Kaysville's portion of the property tax rate," about $14.61 a month on a $690,000 home. Adams and Hunt voted yea; Jackson and Blackham voted nay.
The minutes record that she called the increase "substantial" and argued for "more consistent use of the Truth in Taxation process to apply modest, inflation-aligned increases annually, potentially avoiding larger spikes in future years."
Kaysville was one of 35 entities denied. KSL reported the city sought about $1.8 million, and that denials that year turned on compliance with new procedural rules.
Tentative budget: $1,226,151 in new property tax. Final: $802,910, about $6.39 a month on the average home. The budget message states: "Any increase in the General Fund budget due to the rise in inflation is proposed to be covered by property tax."
General Fund current-year property tax, from the city's FY2027 budget document. FY24–25 are actuals; FY26 is what the city budgeted before the state denied the increase; FY27 is the adopted budget including the $802,910 Truth in Taxation increase.
The FY2027 cut of roughly a third between tentative and final budgets is part of the record, as is the city's small commercial tax base she points to.
Fair to note: FY27 increase cut ~35% before adoptionLeft column: her campaign's own "Guiding Principles" page. Right column: Kaysville's minutes and budgets during her time as mayor.
Her Senate conflict-of-interest form (Item 2A) asks for "each entity in which the regulated officeholder is an owner or officer, or was an owner or officer during the preceding year." Each row below was checked against the Utah Division of Corporations record for that entity.
| Entity | State record: her role | On her Senate form? | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rylex Consulting LLC | Manager; registered agent | Yes | Form says "partner." Government IT; Hill AFB among listed clients. |
| Rylex Holdings LLC | Member (sole principal) | Yes | Active since 2014. |
| Allante Holdings LLC | Manager; registered agent | Yes | Form says "member." |
| Woodbury Technologies, Inc. | President; registered agent | Yes | Listed in the board section as a Rylex subsidiary. |
| Savage River Associates Inc. | President and Director; registered agent | Not listed | Maryland cybersecurity firm; Utah registration since 2019; renewed 9/21/26. Federal contractor data lists it as a Rylex subsidiary. |
| LT Topeka LLC (registered twice, #14528136 and #14530930) | Sole member; registered agent | Not listed | Formed Dec. 2024; purpose not stated. Two identical registrations the same day, counted here as one business. |
Green: on her Senate disclosure form and confirmed in state records. Red: in state records with her as an officer or owner, not on her form. All six share the same Layton office suite except LT Topeka, which also lists her campaign-filing address.
The company's website describes "cybersecurity consulting delivered to Department of Defense (DoD), Federal, State, Local and commercial entities" and gives its office as 334 North Marshall Way, Suite J, Layton, the same suite as Rylex and Woodbury Technologies. Its 2019 Utah filing lists a different founder, John Matthew Knieriem, as its only officer; by the state's September 2024 update, Tran is President and Director.
Tran sits on the State of Utah Cyber Security Commission (her own form). Savage River's named past clients are all federal: DISA, the Defense Health Agency, USAID and the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency. No Utah government client appears anywhere in its materials.
Not on her form No Utah client found Her four listed businesses all match state recordsHer form lists 19 board and leadership seats. Several put her on both sides of the same table.
Tran chairs Davis Tech's Board of Trustees. On Sept. 3, 2026, Davis Tech's vice president presented the college's ~30-year campus master plan to the Kaysville council she presides over, including a proposed Laurelwood Drive connection neighbors have raised traffic concerns about. The plan was set to go to the Davis Tech Board for approval on Sept. 24. The council's conflict-of-interest call followed the presentation; "no conflicts were identified." The minutes record no mention of her Davis Tech role. It was a presentation, not a vote, and her board seat is on her public form.
Her form lists the Lake View Hospital Board of Trustees. Lakeview is a MountainStar/HCA hospital. Its CEO, Troy Wood, endorsed her; MountainStar Healthcare Good Government PAC gave her $1,000.
On Sept. 17, 2026, the council authorized up to $6.5M in sales tax revenue bonds for the Operations Center (estimated total repayment $9,166,725). The resolution makes the mayor one of three officials who can choose the underwriter and set final terms, and she signs the documents. Zions Public Finance is the city's advisor and Zions Bancorporation the trustee. The city manager said repayment comes from previously approved utility rate increases; the FY27 budget sets aside about $474,000 a year across utility funds and the Road Fund. Public hearing: Nov. 5, 2026. The process meets the Local Government Bonding Act's notice requirements.
Every link below is a shared donor, vendor, board member or address found in both her filings and another 2026 case file. A shared name is a connection, not an accusation.
Kaysville Mayor · Doers Network endorsee and largest recipient · Jerry Stevenson's successor candidate
Arrows into Tran are money to her campaign or spent for her. Left column: other 2026 candidates who received money from the same source, with the amount each got. No money moved between candidates. Dashed line: endorsement. Hiatt sits on the Doers Network's Davis County board. "IE" is an independent expenditure made on her behalf, not a contribution to her campaign.
All In For Utah PAC supplied $12,037.22 in advertising to her campaign, all in-kind. Its filings list 6905 S 1300 E #224, the same suite as the Doers Network's 3/1/26 contribution. Matthew T. Sanderson incorporated both. Case 11 documents the PAC's chair as Owen Fuller and its treasurer as Dan Hemmert, MIDA's Executive Director; Searle received $6,246 from it.
A Jed D. Stevenson of Kaysville gave her $4,000 on 6/22/26, the same day as Jerry Stevenson's $500. Case 20 documents that Jerry Stevenson's son, Jed Stevenson, co-owns Academica West at 290 N. Flint St. On Aug. 20, 2026, the Kaysville Business Park Architectural Review Committee, which Tran chairs, approved a 24.86 sq ft sign for Academica West at that address, 5–0. Staff found it met code, and she did not vote. Whether the donor is the same Jed Stevenson is not confirmed.
Friends of Ann Millner gave her $1,000. Case 16 documents Millner as a co-founder of NUPAC, the PAC that first funded Koford for Millner's own seat. Clyde Companies gave both Tran and Koford $500.
Both her campaign and Craythorne's paid the consulting firm Majority 51. Sen. Evan Vickers gave her $2,000. Case 13 documents Vickers paying Election Hive the same day Doers Network paid Craythorne and Rep. Jordan Teuscher, while Vickers carried H.B. 33 in the Senate.
McKell gave her $1,000. The SD-21 file documents McKell giving Brammer $5,000. McKell was the primary sponsor of S.B. 287, the targeted-advertising tax. Sen. Evan Vickers and the Farm Bureau's AGPAC also gave to both campaigns.
Meta's PAC spent $152,503.46 for Tran on 6/11/26. Separately, a Williams gas plant for Meta's Eagle Mountain campus is waiting on a Public Service Commission decision, and new legislative committees will shape the next data center rules. The filings do not say why Meta chose Tran. Open the Meta case file →
Nominated at the Democratic convention April 11, 2026. Tran won the June 23 Republican primary over Robert "Denny" Wanlass, who had publicly criticized the MIDA process behind the Brigham City-area data center and developer-driven PIDs.
Also on the ballot: Josh Smith of the Forward Party, who filed for the seat in January (KSL's 2026 filing list). His filings are in his own card below. Added Oct. 2, 2026.
| Tami Tran (R) | Jared Neal (D) | |
|---|---|---|
| Home city | Kaysville | Syracuse |
| Government record | Planning Commission, City Council, Mayor since 2022 | None |
| Work | Owner/officer, Rylex government IT companies | Head of Portfolio Management, Founderpath Inc. (Austin, TX): underwrites loans to software startups |
| Disclosure form | 19 boards; 4 businesses listed, 2 more in state records not listed | Employer only; no businesses, stocks or board seats listed |
| Cash raised | $81,735.29 | $1,687.89 |
| Of that, own loans | $20,060.29 | $100.00 |
| In-kind received | $12,037.22 | $1,200.00 |
| Outside spending for them | $152,503.46 (Meta PAC) | None found |
| Largest cash donor | Doers Network, $10,600 | Patrick de Freitas, $500 |
| Stated priorities | Family, fiscal restraint, low taxes, school choice, public safety | Affordability, public schools, Great Salt Lake |
| Great Salt Lake / water | Not mentioned in her platform | Backs the 4,200 Project; cites Grow the Flow |
Convention and Primary reports (1/14/26–5/21/26): 20 contributions totaling $1,177.89, including a $100 loan from himself, and $242.28 spent (photography $188.12, printing $54.16). Later period (6/15–6/22/26): $510 in cash from two donors, plus $1,200 in-kind from Baywin Communications of Boise, with no in-kind description entered. His campaign website (nealforutah.com) carries a "© 2026 by Baywin Communications" credit, which matches a website build. Baywin's filed address is the same Boise address as an early $20 donor, Weston Yates.
$455.64 of his early money came from outside Utah (Idaho, California, Virginia). Several of his entries are marked as amendments.
Per his campaign site: he moved to Utah in 2019 and has lived in Syracuse for three years. He spent a decade in retail, describes himself as "the son of two union members," and now works as "Head of Portfolio Management at a financial tech company." His disclosure form names the employer as Founderpath Inc. of Austin, Texas, where he underwrites business loans "primarily serving software as a service start up companies" and manages the loan book. The form lists no businesses he owns, no stocks or bonds over $5,000, and no board seats. He lists three priorities:
His priorities page gets specific on the lake: he backs the Utah Rivers Council's "4,200 Project" to return the lake to 4,200 feet, says he "will fight against any legislation that silences the public or removes health checks from water rights decisions," and names Grow the Flow as a group whose lead he would follow on getting "wet water" to the lake. On affordability he lists housing supply, prescription price gouging and childcare costs.
Like Tran, he runs on affordability. Unlike Tran, he has no government voting record to compare it with. He addresses water and the Great Salt Lake directly; Tran's platform doesn't mention either.
Tran's campaign reported about 48 times Neal's cash ($81,735 vs. $1,688). Counting Meta's $152,503 in outside spending on her behalf, money spent to elect her runs about 139 times his cash.
Neal's disclosure form: employer onlyIN PLAIN WORDSSmith's 2026 report shows no money raised. His only 2026 entry moves $140.71, the cash left from an earlier campaign, to "Josh Smith for Utah."
2026 money. His 2026 Convention report lists one entry: $140.71 paid on Jan. 26, 2026 to "Josh Smith for Utah," filed as "Donations." No contributions appear for 2026 (one entry shows as deleted). Whether "Josh Smith for Utah" files reports of its own was not found in the records in hand.
Earlier money. The same account's 2024 reports (Convention through Year End) list $1,216.78 in, $200 of it in-kind ("Consultation and Software Tools," Jacob Bush of North Ogden), and $876.07 out, leaving $140.71, the same amount moved in January. Givers included the Utah Forward Party ($208.80), Alice L. Steiner ($250), David Hinckley for Utah ($125) and Smith himself ($110.92). Payments included the Davis County Clerk ($83.02, Jan. 8, 2024), Good Guy Signs ($405.81), Vistaprint and Facebook ads.
His disclosure form. Employer: Rakuten Advertising, senior software engineering manager; previously JBT AeroTech in Ogden, software engineer. Businesses, $5,000+ income sources and boards: "none." Stock: Rakuten Group Inc. ("Japanese technology conglomerate"). Spouse: Kelsey L. Smith, employer "N/A." The form on the state site lists his office as "Representative"; he is on the 2026 ballot for Senate District 6. Read from the text Shauna pasted from the state site Oct. 2, 2026.
Connections. A Josh Smith of Layton gave Sen. Emily Buss (Forward, SD-11) $100 on Sept. 8, 2026; same name and city as Smith's filings, not confirmed as him. His 2024 giver "David Hinckley for Utah" lists an Orem address; a David Hinckley of Orem gave to Forward Party candidates in HD-6, SD-11 and SD-13.
Smith isn't graded on this page, the same as Neal; the page grades Tran's record. His figures come from two data exports Shauna sent Oct. 2, 2026 (one for 2024, one for 2026).
IN PLAIN WORDSEvery dollar each campaign reported, sorted into piles: people, caucus and leadership PACs, other organizations, party help and the candidate's own money. Bars are drawn to the same scale, so a short bar means less money. These are facts from the filings; they are shown here, not graded.
Periods differ where the filings in hand differ; each candidate's period is listed with their bar. "Own money" includes loans and money moved from the candidate's own earlier campaign account, as labeled. Disclosure-form lines come from each candidate's own form as described on this page. Added Oct. 2, 2026.
This outlet grades each topic on five standing questions: does it check power, can the public see the process, who pays and is that plain, what does it do to water and land, and who bears the cost with real standing to be heard. Each topic is graded separately. These grades judge the process and the record, not the person.
| Criterion | Grade and reason |
|---|---|
| Power | BThe check worked: the increase went through Truth in Taxation and the State Tax Commission denied it. The mayor's vote only mattered because the council split. |
| Transparency | BPublic meeting, recorded roll call, and her reasoning in the minutes. The denial turned on procedural non-compliance. |
| Financial accountability | CThe cost to households was stated plainly ($14.61/month). The FY26 budget still carried revenue the city never received. |
| Environmental impact | N/ANot applicable. |
| Community impact | CResidents could be heard at the hearings. The increase was 31.72% in a single year, which is the kind of spike her own stated approach says to avoid. |
| Criterion | Grade and reason |
|---|---|
| Power | N/ANot applicable. |
| Transparency | D−Four of six state-listed businesses disclosed and accurate. The two missing include a cybersecurity firm in the same field as her state Cyber Security Commission seat, which is the kind of overlap the form exists to show. Two items voters can't see anywhere else left off is graded D− under the Hive's ladder, the same as Sen. Cullimore's form in SD-19. Her pay from Kaysville City as mayor is listed. Earlier: D. Regraded Oct. 3, 2026. How the grade can change: an updated form that lists both companies. |
| Financial accountability | CIncome sources are listed. The missing entities' revenue is unknown; no Utah government client has been found. |
| Environmental impact | N/ANot applicable. |
| Community impact | CVoters can find the gap only by cross-checking state records themselves. |
How disclosure forms are graded: On disclosure forms, an item voters can't see anywhere else (a company, a board seat, a job) left off is graded D; two left off, D−; three or more, F, a pattern. Legislative pay, which is public, left off with nothing else missing is graded D+. Anything named somewhere on the form counts as listed, and a form not on file is graded F. (Disclosure-form ladder added Oct. 3, 2026.)
| Criterion | Grade and reason |
|---|---|
| Power | CRevenue bonds don't go to voters under state law. Final terms are delegated to any one of three officials, including the mayor. |
| Transparency | BNotice, a 30-day contest period, and the estimated total cost ($9,166,725) are all published. The hearing falls two days after the election. |
| Financial accountability | CThe legal pledge is sales, energy and telecom taxes, while the city manager describes repayment from utility rate increases. Both can be true, but residents are told two different things. The advisor and the trustee are both Zions entities. |
| Environmental impact | N/ANo environmental effect identified; the project includes fuel-island compliance work. |
| Community impact | CA public hearing is scheduled; utility ratepayers are already paying through approved increases. |
| Criterion | Grade and reason |
|---|---|
| Power | DOne corporation's PAC spent nearly twice what her campaign raised, and about 90 times her opponent's cash, in a single day before the primary. |
| Transparency | BThe PAC itemized every payment, named Meta Platforms as the organization it represents, and registered on time. What the spending was meant to achieve is not stated anywhere. |
| Financial accountability | CAll of it is visible, but only in the PAC's own report, not in hers. |
| Environmental impact | N/ANot applicable. |
| Community impact | DAds, texts and mailers funded by a single company reached voters in the final stretch before the primary. Tracing the money to Meta takes the PAC's own filings, not the candidate's. |