Utah Hive Politics logoUtah Hive Politicsfrom the publisher of The Weber County Hive
← All Utah Maps

MAP 004 · Great Salt Lake

Great Salt Lake Pressures

What is being built, permitted, bought, and protected around the Great Salt Lake: data centers, Inland Port areas, water and mineral projects, conservation actions, and military project areas. Click a pin for who approved it, what the record shows, and the Hive case file behind it. Conservation actions are on the map too, not only pressures. Pin locations are general, not exact boundaries.

44%of the lake's surface area lost compared with its averageState-commissioned report, June 2026
$2.1–2.8Bestimated yearly cost of the lake's decline, including dust, health, and lost businessECONorthwest study, 2025
68 sq miof exposed lakebed actively producing dustState-commissioned report, June 2026
~80%of Utah's wetlands surround the lake, used by 10 million+ migratory birdsState-commissioned report, June 2026
4,192 ftlake level that triggered required cuts for mineral companies in 2025State distribution management plan
288,000acre-feet approved or dedicated for the lake so far (committed, not measured arriving)State-commissioned report, June 2026
Solid pin: approved and in effectDashed pin: proposed, pending, or not final

Where the water goes

Most of the water used in the lake's basin goes to farms

Rivers carry snowmelt toward the lake. Along the way, people use some of it up. This is called depletion: water that is consumed and does not flow back. The pins on the map above are individual projects; the biggest uses, farms and lawns, are spread across thousands of fields and yards and cannot be shown as a single pin.

Simplified. Percentages are shares of human-caused depletion in the basin, 2020–2024.

Source: Utah Division of Water Resources, Great Salt Lake Basin Water Budget (updated model); Great Salt Lake Strike Team.

Agriculture is the largest use by far (65%). Within city use, outdoor watering at homes is the largest part: 96.9% of residential depletion, added up across hundreds of thousands of homes. Watering home lawns and landscaping alone used an estimated 408,500 acre-feet in 2024, about a quarter as much as agriculture in the basin. Golf courses are counted separately, under business use (about 23,600 acre-feet in 2022).
Totals vs. one user: why both matter

Added together, homes use more water than today's data centers. But that total is spread across hundreds of thousands of households. A single large user can equal hundreds or thousands of homes, and some of the largest users have no reporting or cut requirement.

One userAcre-feet a yearSame as about
One Utah household (average)0.51 home
Aligned data center, West Valley Cityabout 245490 homes
NSA Utah Data Center, Bluffdaleabout 387770 homes
River Oaks wells, Sandy (golf course, up to)5001,000 homes
Keller Cattle new water right, Promontory556.71,110 homes
Copper Club golf course, Magna (2022, reported)1,0852,170 homes
Stratos, proposed (published estimate, power generation only)up to about 50,000100,000 homes

At the high estimate, Stratos alone would equal about 12% of all home lawn and landscape watering in the basin (50,000 ÷ 408,500), and about 2% of all water used up in the basin, from one project.

Hive calculation. Household average of 0.5 acre-feet a year as used by the Salt Lake Tribune (Feb. 10, 2025). Data center figures converted from gallons (1 acre-foot = 325,851 gallons), Tribune, Jan. 14, 2026. River Oaks: Division of Water Rights notices (up to 500 acre-feet). Keller Cattle: State Engineer approval, July 2024. Copper Club: Tribune golf data, April 2023; Rio Tinto Kennecott has said this figure includes a shared industrial well. Stratos: Utah Clean Energy, 2026, not a developer figure; developers say plans are still under design. Some of these are water rights or withdrawals, not water used up, so they are not exact comparisons.
Share of all water used up in the basin: home lawns and landscaping are roughly 16%. Golf courses are roughly 1%, but the exact share is unknown because golf water reporting is voluntary. Hive calculation from the figures above, not a published state number. Cities and industry are 26.8% of the total; homes are about 61% of that; outdoor watering is 96.9% of home use (0.268 × 0.61 × 0.969 ≈ 16%). A second check gives the same result: 408,500 acre-feet is about a quarter of farm use, which puts the basin total near 2.5 million acre-feet. The figures come from different years (2020–2024 average, 2024, and 2022).
Golf math, step by step (Hive calculation)
1. Courses operating in Utah (2022 data set)111
2. Share that did not track or did not share water useabout 25% (about 28 courses)
3. Water reported by the courses that did share (2022)about 23,600 acre-feet
4. If non-reporters used water at the same average rate: 23,600 ÷ 0.75about 31,500 acre-feet
5. Estimated water not reported (31,500 − 23,600)about 7,900 acre-feet
6. Share of basin total (about 2.5 million acre-feet), reported onlyabout 0.9%
7. Share of basin total, with the estimate for non-reportersabout 1.3%
Assumptions: courses that did not report are the same size and water the same way as those that did; this is not known. Golf figures are water applied, not water used up, so the true share of water used up is likely lower than shown. Some reported totals are statewide, not only in the lake basin. The state GIS map layer lists 118 courses, not 111; the two counts may define a course differently, and the difference is not explained in the records reviewed. No newer statewide golf total was found after the 2022 figures published in April 2023. Source: Salt Lake Tribune / Great Salt Lake Collaborative, April 10, 2023.
No public number for most business water. Business and industry are 8% of statewide diversions, about 408,000 acre-feet a year. Only golf courses (voluntary reports) and seven named data centers have public figures, together about 6% of that. Offices, stores, churches, schools, manufacturing, and other buildings have no public user-by-user accounting.
Who faced required cuts. In 2025, required cuts applied to mineral companies. Cuts for agriculture were voluntary and paid through incentives. The Strike Team says: "all sectors contribute to depletions in the basin and no single sector can bear the full responsibility for restoring the lake."

The June 2026 state-commissioned report gives agriculture as about 63% and municipal use as about 11% of consumptive use. That report measures differently from the water budget shown above; the two sets of figures are not directly comparable.

Read: Who's Actually Using the Water? →

Diversions, then and now

Water taken from the rivers has not gone down overall

DiversionWater pulled out of a river, canal, or well. Some of it flows back later.
DepletionWater that is used up and does not flow back, mostly lost to plants and evaporation. This is what the lake loses.

Statewide water diversions, by use

Sources: Utah Foundation; KSL; Salt Lake Tribune / Great Salt Lake Collaborative, Nov. 2022. Statewide diversions, a different measure from basin depletion above.

How the basin's water use has shifted

Total use went up. Basin-wide depletion in the early 2020s ran about 5% higher than in the early 1990s. Per-person use has mostly fallen since 1989, but there are more people.

Over about 150 years: how much each use lowered the lake

Source: Wurtsbaugh et al., Utah State University, 2016. The study found water use cut river flow into the lake by 39%, leaving it about 11 feet lower with about 48% less volume.

Water leased for the lake, compared with the target

Acre-feet a year. Source: Great Salt Lake Strike Team, Data and Insights Summary, Jan. 7, 2026. The target is additional water each year to reach a healthy minimum lake level by 2034.

Leasing has grown about nine times since 2021. It is still about a fifth of the yearly target.
Who makes these deals. Legislators do not lease the water themselves. They passed the laws that allow it and set aside money. The deals are made between:
  • Water-right holders (farmers, irrigation companies, water districts, and cities), who lease or donate water to the lake and keep their underlying rights.
  • The Great Salt Lake Watershed Enhancement Trust, run by the National Audubon Society and The Nature Conservancy with $40 million from the Legislature (H.B. 410, 2022). It reports 59,000 to 72,485 acre-feet a year.
  • The state: the Office of the Great Salt Lake Commissioner and the Division of Forestry, Fire and State Lands, including a $50 million Water Delivery Program run with the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation (2025). The Trust Council reviews the commissioner's water purchases and leases.
The Strike Team's 163,468 acre-feet is a total. The records reviewed do not break it down by who arranged each deal.

Who is required to change

What each group is required to do

Households are under a firm deadline to meter outdoor water, and mineral companies faced required cuts in 2025. Agriculture, the largest user, has voluntary programs. Golf courses have no reporting requirement, and existing data centers are exempt from the new reporting law.

WhoShare of useWhat is requiredStatus
Households (outdoor, secondary water)Outdoor watering at homes: 96.9% of residential depletion; home lawns and landscaping about 408,500 acre-feet in 2024Secondary water meters statewide by Jan. 1, 2030 (H.B. 242, 2022; S.B. 251, 2023). About 85% of connections were unmetered in 2022. Where meters went in, use dropped 20 to 40%.Required
Mineral companies5.7% of basin depletionRequired cuts when the lake neared 4,192 feet in 2025. The mineral severance tax rose from 2.6% to 7.8% (H.B. 453, 2024).Required
Agriculture65% of basin depletion; alfalfa and hay 68% of statewide diversionsReductions in 2025 were voluntary and paid through incentives. The $132 million Agriculture Water Optimization Program on the state's project list has no funding secured.Voluntary
Golf coursesAbout 23,600 acre-feet in 2022 (voluntary reports; about 25% did not report)No reporting requirement. H.B. 188 (2023) would have required disclosure and did not pass; S.B. 195 (2024) would have studied golf water and kept the data private, and did not pass. Public water-right notices can also leave the course unnamed: Sandy's River Oaks applications were noticed as "municipal use" (see the map pin).None
Data centersSix named facilities: 3 million to 126 million gallons a year (city water records). Meta reported about 35 million gallons itself. See the data center list below.H.B. 76 (2026) requires new large data centers to report water use starting July 1, 2026. Facilities already operating or under construction before that date are exempt.New ones only
Data centers: which ones have a public water number
Facility (city)Gallons a year
NSA Utah Data Center (Bluffdale)126 million
Aligned Data Centers (West Valley City)80 million
Aligned Data Centers (West Jordan)47.4 million
eBay (South Jordan)19.5 million
DataBank Granite Point (Bluffdale)7.7 million
Novva (West Jordan)3 million
Meta (Eagle Mountain), 2024, reported by Metaabout 35 million
The first six figures are from city water provider records for about Oct. 2024 to Sept. 2025. Together, all seven are about 318 million gallons, or about 980 acre-feet (Hive calculation).

Drinking water or secondary water?

  • The six figures come from city water providers' records, meaning water bought through city systems. The reporting reviewed does not say, facility by facility, whether it is treated drinking (culinary) water or secondary water.
  • NSA, Bluffdale: an archived Salt Lake Tribune report says Bluffdale contracted, effective Sept. 30, 2011, to sell the NSA water at $2.05 per 1,000 gallons, below the city's $3.25 commercial rate, and describes Bluffdale as a culinary-water supplier.
  • Novva's CEO, Wes Swenson, said in 2022 that other data centers are "using culinary water, not irrigation [water], so it's been treated by the city." That is his statement, not a records finding.
  • Meta buys its water through Eagle Mountain. Joule, in Millard County, uses its own groundwater rights.
  • By comparison, many Wasatch Front homes use drinking water indoors and untreated secondary water for lawns. The 2030 meter requirement applies to that secondary water.
Sources: Salt Lake Tribune archive, "Utah town gave NSA a deal on water"; Salt Lake Tribune / Great Salt Lake Collaborative, July 11, 2022 and Jan. 14, 2026.

What the NSA paid for water under its 2011 contract

Under the contract, the NSA paid one flat rate of $2.05 per 1,000 gallons no matter how much it used. Other Bluffdale customers paid more per 1,000 gallons as their use went up, up to $3.25 above 100,000 gallons a month. The contract also required a $12,500 monthly maintenance fee.

Gallons used in a monthPer 1,000 gallons
1,000 to 10,000$1.55
10,000 to 50,000$1.95
50,000 to 100,000$2.60
Above 100,000$3.25
NSA, every gallon$2.05

The math at 126 million gallons a year (Hive calculation, using 2011 rates)

Regular ratesNSA contract
Water charges a yearabout $420,900about $258,300
Maintenance fee a yearnone$150,000
Total a yearabout $420,900about $408,300

Water charges alone: about $162,600 a year less, or about 39% less. With the maintenance fee: about $12,600 a year less, or about 3% less. The contract also set a minimum monthly payment, but that amount was redacted, so the full total cannot be calculated from public records.

Assumes use spread evenly, about 10.5 million gallons a month, and includes the 10-cent elevation charge in both columns. The 10-year contract took effect Sept. 30, 2011; its current terms were not found. This shows how the 2011 pricing worked, not an actual bill. Utah's average rate in 2011 was $2.09 per 1,000 gallons. Source: Salt Lake Tribune, "Utah town gave NSA a deal on water," Nate Carlisle, Nov. 30, 2013; 126 million gallons from the Tribune, Jan. 14, 2026.

No public water number found:

  • Meta, Eagle Mountain: monthly water use is kept confidential under a 2018 agreement with the city. Only Meta's own yearly total is public.
  • QTS and Google, Eagle Mountain: approved; under construction at the time of the report.
  • Joule Capital Partners, Millard County: holds rights to more than 10,000 acre-feet of groundwater (outside the lake basin). Use not reported.
  • Stratos, Box Elder County: proposed; published estimates range up to 16.6 billion gallons a year for power generation alone (see map pin).
  • Tooele Valley data center: proposed; water plan includes a brine discharge (see map pin).
  • Other operating sites, such as Flexential (West Jordan and Salt Lake City) and FiberNet (Orem): no figure found in the public reporting reviewed.
Source: Salt Lake Tribune / Great Salt Lake Collaborative, Jan. 14, 2026. "No figure found" means none appeared in that report or the other public sources reviewed; it does not mean none exists.
New water approved during the freeze

Gov. Cox closed the lake basin to most new water rights in November 2022. In the two years after, about 300 applications asked for more than 230,000 acre-feet. The state approved about 2,517 acre-feet of new rights, mostly for irrigation and stock water.

The largest approval found was Keller Cattle Corp. (associated with House Speaker Mike Schultz): 556.7 acre-feet a year near Promontory, approved July 2024. That is about 22% of all new water approved in the basin in those two years (Hive calculation: 556.7 ÷ 2,517). A nearby applicant, Mango-Spiral Jetty LLC, was approved for 240 acre-feet of a larger request and has challenged the decision in court (see map pins).

The closure has exceptions: uses that return the water (such as hydropower), applications with a plan to offset water used, and small amounts. Source: Salt Lake Tribune / Great Salt Lake Collaborative, Feb. 10, 2025 (Division of Water Rights data through Oct. 29, 2024); Governor's Proclamation 2022-01.

Sources: Utah Code 73-10-34; Consequences of Drying Lake Systems Around the World: 2026 Update; Great Salt Lake Enhancement Projects Master List; Utah Legislature bill histories; Division of Water Rights. Shares mix two measures (basin depletion and statewide diversions) as labeled.

Read: Who's Actually Using the Water? →Read: GSL Fact vs. Fiction →

The money to help the lake

Most identified lake projects do not have funding yet

The state's master list has 161 projects that would help the lake, from canal piping to wetland restoration. Separately, the Legislature gave $40 million to the Great Salt Lake Watershed Enhancement Trust in 2022 to buy, lease, and accept water for the lake.

The 161-project list: $636.5 million

Source: Great Salt Lake Enhancement Projects Master List (DWQ-2024-000314).

Share funded, by type of project

Projects marked "shovel ready" are 4.1% funded: $11.1 million of $267.6 million. The two largest unfunded items are a $230 million water treatment upgrade and a $132 million agriculture water program.

The Trust's $40 million, after three years

Source: Watershed Enhancement Trust year-end reporting, through Dec. 31, 2025.

Water the Trust reports transacting each year (acre-feet)

A goal met early. The Trust's wetland grants have protected or restored 20,399 acres across three rounds, past its 20,000-acre goal and ahead of its 2028 target date.
Not yet reconciled. The Trust's yearly totals (59,000 to 72,485 acre-feet) and the state report's 288,000 acre-feet "committed" are counted differently, and no public document reviewed explains the gap.

Final wetland awards are made by the Trust Council and the state lands division, after a committee of experts scores the proposals.

Simplified. A separate $53 million pool opened in 2025 for water transactions and projects; its awards were expected in spring 2026.

Read: $511 Million Short →Read: Three Years, $7.24 Million →Read: What Losing the Lake Would Cost →

Known, but not yet on the map

In the record, without a mapped location yet

These appear in public records or Hive case files, but the records reviewed do not give a site precise enough to place a pin. They will be added when they do.

Golden Spike Inland Port areaBox Elder County. UIPA's board voted Aug. 21, 2023 to create it with a $219 million incentive package. Case file
Northwest Quadrant Inland Port areaSalt Lake County. Now under the local water-provider standard set by S.B. 225. Case file
Brigham City nuclear proposalA proposed small-reactor campus, projected to use about 620 million gallons of water a year. No approving record reviewed.
Golf coursesAbout 23,600 acre-feet in 2022, from voluntary reporting (about 25% of courses did not report). No state law requires golf water reporting. Sandy's River Oaks course now has a pin. Case file
Other data centersThe Salt Lake Tribune's statewide data center map (Sept. 25, 2026) lists dozens of sites. Only those with public financing or water records are pinned here.
Secondary water metersRequired statewide by Jan. 1, 2030. Where meters are installed, use has dropped 20 to 40%. Case file

Words on this map

Tap a card to flip it.

Acre-footTap to flip ↻
The water needed to cover one acre one foot deep, about 326,000 gallons. Water rights and lake use are measured this way.
Water rightTap to flip ↻
A legal right to use a set amount of water for a set purpose. Utah's State Engineer approves new rights and changes to old ones.
Change applicationTap to flip ↻
A request to change where, how, or for what an existing water right is used. Anyone affected can protest it.
ProtestTap to flip ↻
A formal objection filed with the State Engineer while an application is open for comment.
Proof of beneficial useTap to flip ↻
The deadline to show the water has actually been put to use. A right that is never used can lapse.
UPDES permitTap to flip ↻
Utah's permit for discharging wastewater or other pollutants into state waters, issued by the Division of Water Quality.
Antidegradation reviewTap to flip ↻
A Water Quality review of whether a new discharge would lower the quality of water that is currently cleaner than required.
Reverse osmosis brineTap to flip ↻
The salty leftover water produced when reverse osmosis filters make fresh water.
North Arm and South ArmTap to flip ↻
A railroad causeway splits the lake. The North Arm (Gunnison Bay) is much saltier; the South Arm (Gilbert Bay) gets most of the river water.
CurtailmentTap to flip ↻
A required cut in water use. Mineral companies' use is cut when the lake falls below a set level.
Severance taxTap to flip ↻
A tax on minerals taken from the land or the lake. Utah raised the rate for lake minerals in 2024.
Project areaTap to flip ↻
The boundary a state authority such as the Inland Port or MIDA draws. Its tax and development rules apply only inside that line.

What's on this map

Projects and decisions that add demand on the lake or its water, and actions taken to protect it. Conservation pins are green. Some items cover a large area, such as the Sentinel Landscape, and are placed at a general point with a note.

How this map is sourced

Figures come from permits, water rights orders, project area plans, budgets, and agency pages, or from the Hive case file that cites them. Estimates from advocacy groups are labeled as their claims. Where sources disagree, the pin says so.

More on the lake

The Hive's Great-Salt-Lake repo has the full explainers. MAP 001 shows how the Inland Port and MIDA areas are financed statewide.

Utah Hive Politicsfrom the publisher of The Weber County HiveIndependent · Accountability · Journalism