Utah Hive Politics logoUtah Hive Politicsfrom the publisher of The Weber County Hive
← PUBLIC-LANDS · ALL FILESCASE FILE 01
Utah Hive Politics

720 Acres of Trust Land East of Heber

How a state trust land deal works, what the state's own paperwork says the land is worth with 5 homes or with 100, and what happened when the county said no.

CASE FILE · WASATCH COUNTY · PUBLISHED SEPTEMBER 26, 2026
720.96
acres of state trust land, about 4 miles east of Heber City
$3.6M
appraised value as zoned today (5 homes allowed)
~$16M
projected to the trust if rezoned for 100+ lots
Jan. 1, 2027
developer's extended deadline to meet the conditions
New here? Start with this

The short version: Utah's Trust Lands Administration manages state land to earn money for public schools. In 2023 it signed an option agreement with a developer for 720.96 acres in Wasatch County. If the developer can get the land rezoned for at least 100 homes and find water for them, the trust will lease it to the developer to build. The trust's own staff memo says that would raise the trust's money from the land from about $3.6 million to about $16 million.

What happened: In August 2026, Wasatch County declined the development agreement the developer needed. Days later, a housing adviser to Gov. Spencer Cox told the Heber City Council that the county's state funding was "at risk." The Governor's Office later told the county there would be no effect on its funding.

What's still open: The developer's deadline under the trust agreement is Jan. 1, 2027. No later board action on this deal was found in the Trust Lands agendas reviewed.

TAP TO DEFINEThe words in this file

TermTrust landsTAP TO FLIP ↻Trust lands

Land the federal government gave Utah at statehood to earn money for public schools and other named beneficiaries. The Trust Lands Administration (once called SITLA) sells, leases and develops it. The money goes into permanent funds.

TAP TO FLIP BACK
TermOption agreementTAP TO FLIP ↻Option agreement

A promise to make a deal later if certain conditions are met by a deadline. Nothing is leased or sold until the conditions are met.

TAP TO FLIP BACK
TermDevelopment leaseTAP TO FLIP ↻Development lease

A lease, not a sale. The developer builds on trust land for a set term. The trust is paid under the lease terms.

TAP TO FLIP BACK
TermP-160 and M zonesTAP TO FLIP ↻Current zoning

Preservation (P-160): one home per 160 acres. Mountain (M): one home per 20 acres. On this parcel that allows 5 homes in all.

TAP TO FLIP BACK
TermRA-5 zoneTAP TO FLIP ↻RA-5

Residential Agricultural zoning. The option agreement requires the developer to get the land rezoned to RA-5 with at least 100 lots.

TAP TO FLIP BACK
TermLegislative development agreementTAP TO FLIP ↻Legislative development agreement

A contract between a developer and a county, approved by the county council, that can set density and terms different from the regular zoning.

TAP TO FLIP BACK
TermPreliminary municipalityTAP TO FLIP ↻Preliminary municipality

A new town that a landowner can ask the state to create under a 2024 pilot program (S.B. 258). It gets control of zoning but not taxation. Counties do not approve it.

TAP TO FLIP BACK
TermWildland Urban InterfaceTAP TO FLIP ↻WUI

Areas where homes would meet undeveloped wildland, with higher wildfire and evacuation risk.

TAP TO FLIP BACK

HOW THE DEAL WORKSAn option first, a lease later

This is not a sale. The trust keeps the land unless and until the developer meets two conditions, and even then the next step is a lease.

  1. Feb. 28, 2023. The Trust Lands Administration signs a mutual option agreement (DEVL 1297) with Mountain Venture Studios, which the trust's board materials identify with Philo Development.
  2. Condition 1. Get the county to rezone the land to Residential Agricultural (RA-5) with at least 100 residential lots.
  3. Condition 2. Acquire water rights enough to serve at least 100 homes.
  4. If both are met, the trust enters a 10-year development lease with the developer.
  5. Deadline. Originally Jan. 1, 2025. On Sept. 19, 2024, trust staff asked the board to extend it to Jan. 1, 2027, because the developer said it needed up to 24 more months for approvals.

The water: the developer told the trust it had partnered with Independence Mutual Water Company to acquire 1,180.9 water shares for the larger project, and gave the trust letters of confirmation. Those letters are described in the staff memo, not published in it, and were not independently checked for this file.

THE NUMBERSWhat the trust's own memo says the land is worth

Value to the trust, as zoned vs. if rezoned
As zoned5 homes allowed
$3.6 million
If rezoned100+ lots
~$15,986,000

Both figures are from the Trust Lands staff memo in the Sept. 19, 2024 board packet: an "as-is" appraisal of $3.6 million, and projected gross revenue to the trust of about $15,986,000 if the rezoning succeeds, an increase the memo calls "over $12,000,000."

About 4.4×How much the trust's projected return grows with the rezoning ($15.986M ÷ $3.6M). Hive calculation.
About $160,000Projected return to the trust per lot, if 100 lots (≈$15.986M ÷ 100). Hive calculation.
Not statedThe trust's share of sales or lease payments. The amendment in the packet does not list them.

Why this matters for the public: the trust's money goes to public schools, so a higher return is a public benefit. The rezoning that produces it is a county decision, and the costs of 100 or more homes on the land (roads, water, fire service) fall on the county and its residents. Both are real, and this file shows both.

WHO'S INVOLVEDThe parties on the record

The developer

  • Board materials name the counterparty as Mountain Venture Studios and title the item "with Philo Development."
  • Utah business records show Philo Development Group, LLC was formed Nov. 14, 2022, about 3.5 months before the option agreement, and list Chad Staheli as a manager.
  • Philo partner Greg Whitehead is the primary sponsor of the separate Wasatch Highlands new-town application next door (see below).

The state

  • Staff memo author: Gregg McArthur, economic development and project manager, Trust Lands Administration.
  • The trust's board has seven members. Six serve six-year terms from a nominating list. The seventh is an at-large member "appointed at the pleasure of the Governor."
  • That seat is held by Mike Mower, listed on the board page as a senior advisor in the Governor's Office, with a term that "does not expire." Whether he voted on this deal was not found in the records reviewed.

THE COUNTY'S DECISIONWhat Wasatch County decided, and what followed

Aug. 12, 2026 · work meetingNOT A FINAL VOTE

The council did not advance the developer's request for a 144-lot legislative development agreement on the trust land. A local real estate blog's account of the meeting lists four reasons councilmembers gave:

  • The density didn't fit the county's updated General Plan.
  • Part of the land is in a Wildland Urban Interface area.
  • Water may not support the density.
  • Not enough public benefit to justify leaving the current zoning.

That account is secondary (Keye Team blog, Aug. 14, 2026). It quotes County Manager Dustin Grabau: "there was never a point at which Wasatch County championed the project." The meeting recording or minutes would confirm the reasons.

Aug. 18, 2026 · Heber City CouncilSTATE ADVISER

At an agenda item called "Affordable Housing 101," Steve Waldrip, Gov. Cox's senior housing adviser, cited the county's decision on this deal and its opposition to the preliminary municipality law. As quoted by the Park Record and KPCW, he said the county's funding "is now at risk, meaning none," and "that funding is now suspended."

He spoke to the Heber City Council, not the county. County Manager Grabau told reporters the two issues were not related to each other.

Aug. 19, 2026 · county councilFORMAL ACTION

The county formally declined the 144-lot agreement, as reported by KPCW and the Park Record. Those reports describe the parcel as about 740 acres; the trust's board packet says 720.96 acres.

Aug. 28, 2026 · meeting with the Governor's OfficeFUNDING

In a post on its official Facebook page, the county said the Governor's Office "acknowledged their initial approach in response to our decisions was not the most constructive path forward and confirmed there will be no negative impacts to state funding in Wasatch County."

NEXT DOORA separate, bigger proposal

Don't mix these up. The 720.96-acre trust land deal is separate from Wasatch Highlands, a proposed new town of about 2,700 acres in the same area east of Heber, near Red Ledges. Wasatch Highlands was filed under the state's preliminary municipality program, where the state, not the county, decides. Its primary sponsor is Philo partner Greg Whitehead, and the landowner of record is Christensen Mountain Properties, L.L.C.

Wasatch County's own report on the program, attached to its Sept. 2, 2026 agenda, describes one pending application with 754 units, a 200-room hotel and homes from $1.5 million to $10 million, and says its draft study "makes no mention of affordable housing." The report does not name the application, but its details match Wasatch Highlands. The county's Resolution 26-11 asks the Legislature to repeal the program.

TIMELINEFrom option to rejection

DateWhat happenedSource
Nov. 14, 2022Philo Development Group, LLC formed.Utah Division of Corporations
Feb. 28, 2023Trust signs option agreement DEVL 1297.Trust Lands board packet
Sept. 19, 2024Board asked to extend the deadline to Jan. 1, 2027.Trust Lands board packet
Jan. 1, 2025Original deadline to meet the conditions (since extended).Trust Lands board packet
Aug. 12, 2026County work meeting; 144-lot request not advanced.Keye Team blog; KPCW
Aug. 18, 2026State housing adviser's funding remarks at Heber City Council.Park Record; KPCW
Aug. 19, 2026County formally declines the agreement.KPCW; Park Record
Aug. 28, 2026Governor's Office tells county: no effect on state funding.Wasatch County Facebook
Jan. 1, 2027Extended deadline under the option agreement.Trust Lands board packet

OPEN QUESTIONSWhat the record doesn't answer yet

None of these assume wrongdoing. Tap a card to see where the answer would be.

Question 01Did the board approve the 2024 extension, and how did each trustee vote?WHERE TO LOOK ↻Where to look

Approved minutes of the Sept. 19, 2024 meeting, usually posted with a later board packet on the Utah Public Notice Website.

TAP TO FLIP BACK
Question 02What share of lot sales or lease payments would the trust receive?WHERE TO LOOK ↻Where to look

The original 2023 option agreement and its board item, not included in the 2024 amendment reviewed here.

TAP TO FLIP BACK
Question 03Will the developer ask for another extension before Jan. 1, 2027?WHERE TO LOOK ↻Where to look

Trust Lands board agendas for fall 2026 at trustlands.utah.gov and the Utah Public Notice Website.

TAP TO FLIP BACK
Question 04Is it 720.96 acres or about 740?WHERE TO LOOK ↻Where to look

The trust's packet says 720.96; news reports say about 740. The county's agenda materials for Aug. 12 and 19 would show the acreage the council reviewed.

TAP TO FLIP BACK
Question 05Are the 1,180.9 water shares enough, and are they for this parcel?WHERE TO LOOK ↻Where to look

Division of Water Rights records, and any change application naming Independence Mutual Water Company.

TAP TO FLIP BACK
Question 06What happens to the land if the conditions are never met?WHERE TO LOOK ↻Where to look

The option agreement's termination terms, and later Trust Lands board items for this parcel.

TAP TO FLIP BACK

GRADED BY THE RUBRICFive questions, asked of every file

Every Hive case file is graded on the same five-part rubric: power, transparency, financial accountability, environmental impact and community impact. The grades are about this deal and process, not about anyone's reputation.

CriterionGradeWhy
PowerCThe county kept its say over zoning and used it in public. A state adviser then said the county's funding was at risk over that decision, which the Governor's Office walked back 10 days later. One trust board seat serves at the governor's pleasure.
TransparencyB−The trust posted the appraisal, the projected return, the conditions and the deadline in a public board packet. Missing from what was reviewed: the trust's share, the vote, and the water letters.
Financial accountabilityCThe return to the school trust is stated plainly. The public costs of 100+ homes on land zoned for 5 are not stated in the trust's materials, and would fall on the county.
Environmental impactB−Water was made a condition of the deal, and the county weighed water and wildfire risk before saying no. Whether enough water exists has not been shown publicly.
Community impactCResidents were heard through the county's public process, and that process decided the outcome. The same area now faces a larger new-town proposal where the county has no vote.
OverallC+Simple average of the five grades above.
The bottom line

The state's own paperwork shows the trust land is worth about 4.4 times more to the school trust with 100 homes than with 5. The developer needs the county to approve that density, and in August 2026 the county declined. The option runs until Jan. 1, 2027.

Sources & documents ▾
Primary
  1. Trust Lands Administration, Board of Trustees packet, Sept. 19, 2024, item "Amendment to Mountain Venture Studios Mutual Option Agreement: DEVL 1297 With Philo Development" — utah.gov/pmn/files/1170083.pdf (posted PDF, text read directly)
  2. Trust Lands Administration, Board of Trustees page (board seats, terms) — trustlands.utah.gov (read Aug. 29, 2026)
  3. Utah Division of Corporations, Philo Development Group, LLC, entity 13120459-0160.
  4. Wasatch County, "Preliminary Municipalities Report: Flaws in Existing Statutory Processes," and Resolution 26-11, attachments to the Sept. 2, 2026 council agenda (PDF read directly)
  5. Wasatch County Government, official Facebook post on the Aug. 28, 2026 meeting with the Governor's Office.
News and secondary
  1. Park Record, Clara Hatcher, "Adviser invokes governor in threatening to cut state funding from Wasatch County over development decisions," Aug. 21, 2026.
  2. KPCW, Grace Doerfler, "'Counties who openly declare war': Gov. threatens to pull funding over Wasatch Back development clash," Aug. 21, 2026.
  3. Keye Team real estate blog, Nikki Keye, Aug. 14, 2026 (account of the Aug. 12 work meeting; secondary).
  4. Park Record, Clara Hatcher, on the Wasatch Highlands feasibility request and phases, Feb. 20, 2026.

Hive calculations are labeled where they appear. We did not request comment; this file reports what the public record shows.